Wellesley Education Foundation ("WEF") is a non-profit, tax-exempt community organization.

WEF's mission is to Invest in Programs that Enhance, Enrich & Maintain Educational Excellence and Foster Innovation in the Wellesley Public Schools.

Since 1984, residents and businesses have collaborated and supported the Wellesley public schools through generous donations to WEF. Our town has a long tradition of valuing its schools and providing high-quality education to our children. WEF’s Board of Directors consists of volunteers who are committed to preserving the quality of our schools. We raise funds throughout the year by seeking contributions from residents, businesses and corporate/private enterprises who believe that excellent public schools are essential to the social and economic fabric of our community.

Some of WEF’s traditional fundraisers include:

  • THE SPELLING BEE - which brings the whole town together for an evening of fun and community spirit
  • THE RED APPLE CAMPAIGN - which provides parents the opportunity to honor teachers and staff through a donation to WEF.
  • THE ANNUAL FUND - which gives community residents and businesses alike the opportunity to make donations to WEF. The target for this year's Annual Fund Appeal is $50K.

WEF's primary endeavor is to provide grants to educators for innovative educational projects at all grade levels. In awarding grants, WEF works closely with school administrators to fund projects that result in richer and deeper learning experiences and have the potential to impact a large number of students in innovative ways. For the past twenty five years, WEF has funded grants to educators in the Wellesley Public School System. For the 2012-2013 Academic Year, WEF funded grants to teachers and staff totaling over $120,000. Several larger initiatives were also supported by WEF, including $70,000 for the 1:1 Technology Pilot Expansion and $25,000 for the Wellesley Public School Strategic Plan Initiative. We will also continue to fund programs that honor staff, like the Chair Ceremony, and grants for professional development.